Our Organization

The Center for Planetary Systems Habitability is an interdisciplinary research center located virtually at The University of Texas at Austin reporting to the Jackson School of Geosciences.

The Center is the result of a partnership between the College of Natural Sciences, the Jackson School of Geosciences, and the Cockrell School of Engineering.


Sean Gulick, Research Professor, Institute for Geophysics, Jackson School of Geosciences
Bill Cochran, Research Professor, Department of Astronomy, College of Natural Sciences

Executive Committee

Cynthia Froning, Research Scientist, McDonald Observatory, College of Natural Sciences
David Goldstein, Hayden Head Cent. Prof., Dept. Aerospace Eng. & Eng. Mech., Cockrell School of Engineering
Timothy Goudge, Asst. Prof., Dept. of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences
David Hoffman, Assoc. Prof., Dept. of Molecular Biosciences, College of Natural Sciences
Cornelia Rasmussen, Postdoctoral Fellow, Inst. for Geophysics, Jackson School of Geosciences


The Center also thanks the McDonald Observatory and Department of Astronomy at the College of Natural Sciences, and the University of Texas Institute for Geophysics at the Jackson School for administrative and personnel support.